Esoteric detail new full-length A Pyrrhic Existence

Official press release:

Funeral doom icons Esoteric have unveiled the cover artwork and track list for their new album, A Pyrrhic Existence, which is set for worldwide release on November 8, via Season Of Mist. The long-awaited follow up to 2011’s Paragon of Dissonance was recorded earlier this year at vocalist/guitarist Greg Chandler’s Priory Recording Studios in Birmingham.

Regarding the new record, the band comments:

A Pyrrhic Existence is an album that deals with some of the darkest sides of the human psyche and the harsh realities of existence. The concepts of the lyrics deal with death, suffering, tragedy, lies, and the breakdown of the human psyche. The title is a reference as to how existence can be perceived as something that inflicts so much devastation on the survivor, that it becomes tantamount to defeat. The music is a progression from previous albums, and is of an extremely psychedelic and experimental nature. It can be likened to a vicarious journey through the twisted passages of the broken mind.”

The artwork and track listing of A Phyrrhic Existence can be found below. The cover artwork was created by Lisa Schubert.

The band are currently scheduled to appear at this year’s Madrid Is The Dark Festival in Madrid Spain. The group will perform on Saturday, December 7th, the second day of the two-day event.

A Pyrrhic Existence track listing:


1. “Descent”
2. “Rotting In Dereliction”
3. “Antim Yatra”


4. “Consuming Lies”
5. “Culmination”
6. “Sick And Tired”

Esoteric is:

Greg Chandler – Vocals, Guitars
Mark Bodossian – Bass, synths
Joe Fletcher – Drums
Jim Nolan – Guitars
Gordon Bicknell – Guitars