Dear Seattle announce debut effort Don’t Let Go, drop new single “Daytime TV”

Official press release:

Sydney’s melodic, sing-along, punk rock band Dear Seattle have announced the upcoming release of their debut album Don’t Let Go, due out on February 15th, 2019 via Domestic La La. Along with the exciting announcement, the band have unveiled their new single  “Daytime TV” and launched  pre-orders for the album. 

Following on from their latest critically acclaimed single “Maybe”, “Daytime TV” is all about the struggle when you find someone you love but have absolutely no idea how to go about letting them know. Is it best friends? Is it lovers? Are they just being polite? You have no idea until you take the plunge and let them in on it. You have to be entirely vulnerable and it’s incredibly risky, but it’s the only way it will ever turn into something.

Premiered via triple j’s Good Nights, lead singer Brae Fisher explains the track further:

“Musically, I really love this song because it’s the first one where I have written the lyrics and vocal melody first before adding the instruments. I think that gives it such a different feel to most of our songs – it’s a bit faster and wordier, and I feel the lyrics are more subtle than usual. The whole thing is made to make you want to bop and shout as much as you want to sit still and focus on the nuances.”

Dear Seattle’s debut album Don’t Let Go has been a gradual process, started eighteen months ago with no plan for what it was to be based on. Each track in a way can be a single in its own right, but the album as a whole is a holistic spectrum of what Dear Seattle can be, with no filler tracks and a depth to last for years’ worth of listens.

Don’t Let Go track listing:

  1. “When I’m Gone”
  2. “Maybe”
  3. “Daytime TV”
  4. “Bigger Than My Brain”
  5. “Homegrown”
  6. “You”
  7. “Try”
  8. “Let Me Bleed”
  9. “Broke And Hungry”
  10. “A Modest Mind”
  11. “I Keep Dreaming”