Burnt Books detail new album Where There’s Smoke There’s Fire; stream new song “Stupid Game”

Official press release:

Closing a two-year gap since their debut album, Columbia, South Carolina’s ultra-avant/eclectic punk antagonists, Burnt Books, have hooked up with independent label Retro Futurist, founded by members of Kylesa, for the release of their recently completed second full-length, Where There’s Smoke There’s Fire.

As with their debut, Burnt Books once again enlisted Phillip Cope (Kylesa, Baroness, Lazer/Wulf) to produce their follow-up LP at The Jam Room Recording Studio in the band’s hometown. Having envisioned a musical scope of intense emotions and vitality within their songwriting and delivery, the group takes the listener on a musical roller coaster with Where There’s Smoke There’s Fire, blending their own mix of noisy hardcore, post-punk, mesmerizing and angular riffing and Lollis’ skin-crawling growls, wails, and mocking tones.

CVLT Nation has released the Burnt Books’ dynamic “Stupid Game” in an exclusive premiere; listen now above.

The CD and digital versions of Where There’s Smoke There’s Fire will be available March 20th through Retro Futurist Records and Burnt Books directly, with vinyl and cassette versions to follow this Summer. Preorders for the CD are available HERE.

Where There’s Smoke There’s Fire track listing:

1. “Escape”
2. “Shadow I Cast”
3. “Useless Emotions”
4. “Those Arms”
5. “Bridges”
6. “Stupid Game”
7. “The Harm We’ve Done”
8. “Burn Virgin”
9. “La Rosa”