Official press release:

Renowned Japanese innovators Boris and Merzbow have teamed up with Relapse for their new collaborative 2xCD/4xLP Gensho, one of the artists’ most daring works to date. Named after the Japanese word for “phenomenon,” Gensho is a unique release featuring over one-hundred-and-fifty minutes of new music spread across two CDs and four LPs (available as two separate double LP sets or a deluxe 4xLP edition).

The Boris songs are percussion-less reinventions of classic tracks from the band’s storied catalog, while Merzbow’s tracks are entirely new compositions. The two sets are intended to be played at the same time at varying volumes so that the listener can experience their own “gensho/phenomenon” every time. The artists also commented, “of course you can enjoy both albums as a separate work.”

As with every Boris and Merzbow collaboration, the only thing to expect is the unexpected, lending the album near-infinite potential for aural discovery and encouraging direct interactivity with the listener rarely found in such unconventional music. An untouchable paroxysm of noisy, droning experimentation! Gensho is due out worldwide this coming March 18th via Relapse Records.

A live music video of the two artist’s performing the song’s “Huge” and “Planet Of The Cows” together can be viewed along with a trailer of new music below. Physical preorders are available via Relapse at THIS LOCATION, and digital preorders can be found at Bandcamp HERE.

Though Boris and Merzbow have an extensive history of collaborating with one another, this latest effort was born out of a one-off show in 2014 for Boiler Room TV, when the two acts decided that their set from that day was worthy enough to perform in the context of a proper studio recording. A complete track listing is included below.

Gensho track listing:

1. Boris – “Farewell” (Disc 1)
2. Boris – “Huge” (Disc 1)
3. Boris – “Resonance” (Disc 1)
4. Boris – “Rainbow” (Disc 1)
5. Boris – “Sometimes” (Disc 1)
6. Boris – “Heavy Rain” (Disc 1)
7. Boris – “Akuma No Uta” (Disc 1)
8. Boris – “Akirame Flower” (Disc 1)
9. Boris – “Vomitself” (Disc 1)
10. Merzbow – “Planet of the Cows” (Disc 2)
11. Merzbow – “Goloka Pt.1” (Disc 2)
12. Merzbow – “Goloka Pt.2” (Disc 2)
13. Merzbow – “Prelude to a Broken Arm” (Disc 2)

Boris With Merzbow 1

%d bloggers like this: