Official press release:

Portland, Oregon-based DIY label Accident Prone Records declares the impending August unveiling of a brutalizing new split between Austin, Texas’ BLK OPS (with ex-members of Kill The Client and others), and San Diego, California’s Cave Bastard (with ex-members of Cattle Decapitation and more).

The BLK OPS/Cave Bastard split LP features more than twenty-five minutes of purely devastating grinding, explosive and experimental mayhem from two top-tier underground acts, with four tracks by BLK OPS on the A-Side and four tracks from Cave Bastard on Side B. Enshrouded with cover art by Varises Otak, the record will see an initial LP run of 300 copies – 200 on black vinyl and 100 on blue/orange vinyl – as well as all digital platforms on August 25th. Watch for audio samples, pre-order links, and more info on the split in the days ahead.

BLK OPS/Cave Bastard track listing:

1. “Hallucinogenic Bomb Vest”
2. “The Temple Of My Own Power”
3. “Truth Fuckery”
4. “Suicide-Laced Sugar Cubes”

Side B: Cave Bastard
1. “Vatos Ciegos”
2. “Hobocide”
3. “Violent Perpetuator”
4. “Red Star”

Both bands are booking tour dates to take place in conjunction with the split LP. Cave Bastard is plotting a nine-city tour through the Southwestern US states from August 24th through September 1st, with BLK OPS joining in on four of the shows. The confirmed dates are listed below, with more shows to be confirmed.

Tour Dates:

8/24 – Tucson, AZ | TBA *
8/25 – El Paso, TX | Rockhouse Bar & Grill *
8/26 – San Antonio, TX | Faust Tavern #
8/27 – Austin, TX | The Lost Well #
8/28 – Dallas, TX | Reno’s Chop Shop #
8/29 – Lubbock/Amarillo, TX | TBA #
8/30 – Albuquerque, NM | Sunshine Theater *
8/31 – Phoenix, AZ | Masters Chambers *
9/01 – Moreno Valley, CA | Omniscient Fest Vol. II *

* = Cave Bastard only
# = Cave Bastard and BLK OPS

Photo by: Nathan Daughdrill


Champ Morgan – vocals, noise, theremin
Neil Barrett – drums, samples
Mark Key – guitars, vocals

Photo by: Cari Veach

Cave Bastard is:

Steve Pearce – vocals
Nick Padron – guitars
Chase Ferguson – guitars
Troy Oftedal – bass
Steven Reed – drums