Photo by: Alexandre Souêtre

Official press release:

Los Angeles-based instrumental rock band Barrows has completed their sprawling new 2xLP, Obsidion, and will release it through German-based Tonzonen Records on May 26th.

Barrows was initially formed in Syracuse, New York by Jim Leonard and Richy Epolito, after which the duo relocated to Los Angeles with a more serious, driven focus for the band. The band has proven to be a formidable force in the realm of exploratory rock through two prior albums – 2011’s Imprecari Island, and 2014’s Red Giant – along with sporadic bursts of touring. Barrows is preparing to reach further into the depths of consciousness on their most entrancing work yet, Obsidion.

Boasting incredibly driving passages amidst massive expanses of powerful cosmic and atmospheric exploration, Obsidion bears an indescribable energy at its core, though the final product is implemented with a calculated coolness. Emotional and evocative, Barrows‘ brand of sci-fi instrumental rock conveys their thoughts and visions without the use of words. Upon hearing Obsidion, the listener may detect fragments of references to progressive, space, kraut, and psych rock acts, citing anything from early King Crimson and Pink Floyd to John Carpenter and Goblin. Obsidion was written and performed by Jim Leonard and Richy Epolito, recorded and mixed by Sean Foye, Jim Leonard, and Richy Epolito. The album was mastered by Eroc from the legendary Krautrock band Grobschnitt and features stark/abstract artwork and photography by Alexandre Souêtre.

Obsidion will be released May 26th, digitally through the band, and on deluxe 2xLP via Tonzonen Records. The art and track listing have been unveiled; stand by for audio samples, pre-order info, tour schedule and much more in the weeks ahead.

When Barrows performs live, Leonard and Epolito are joined by guitarist Ryo Higuchi and bassist Brock Haltiwanger. The band is planning on touring in support of Obsidion, including a residency/album release show at The Echo in the band’s hometown of Los Angeles for the month of May, where the band will be playing a free show every Monday of the month with a bill of area bands of their choice. The full details and lineups of the residency shows will be announced shortly. Barrows will also be touring extensively following the release of the album.

Obsidion track listing:

1. “Telekin”
2. “Entrada”
3. “Obsidion”
4. “Cocoon”
5. “Manna”
6. “Zenith”

%d bloggers like this: