Baroness have announced that their next album will be titled Purple. The Savannah, GA quartet are also streaming a new track from the effort titled “Chlorine & Wine”, which can be heard after the jump. Band vocalist/guitarist John Baizley comments:

“After releasing a lengthy and investigative record like Yellow & Green we all felt that we needed to make something much more direct and immediate. We wanted to write with our normal focus on artistry, balanced against an increased level of energy and focus. It was important for us to write our new songs with the type of enthusiasm and expressiveness that could act as a counterpoint to the album’s dark themes.

As a result, the music came out in an intense, heavy and sonically captivating in a new way, which was important, loathe, as we are to fall into any kind of complacency pitfall or formulaic songwriting routine. Purple is the most fully realized representation of our intention as a band; considering the amount of physical and mental energy spent writing it, we have accomplished something which would have seemed impossible to us a couple of years ago.”

The record, which was produced by Dave Fridmann at Tarbox Road Studios, is set for the release on December 18th through the band’s own Abraxan Hymns. Pre-orders are live and can be secured at

Purple track listing:

1. “Morningstar”
2. “Shock Me”
3. “Try To Disappear”
4. “Kerosene”
5. “Fugue”
6. “Chlorine & Wine”
7. “The Iron Bell”
8. “Desperation Burns”
9. “If I Have To Wake Up (Would You Stop The Rain)”
10. “Crossroads Of Infinity”

Baroness 2

%d bloggers like this: