Official press release:

Heavy Psych Sounds is proud to announce the signing of Californian heavy rockers AVON. The trio, which features ex-Kyuss and Queens Of The Stone Age drummer Alfredo Hernández, will release their sophomore album on the label in February 2018.

AVON is heavy rock trio based in California, formed by Alfredo Hernández (former Kyuss, QOTSA), James Childs (Airbus, Little Villains) and Charles Pasarell (Waxy). Their heavy desert rock is psychedelic, raw, melodic and meaningful. Their musical bond comes from years of playing in their respective bands often together in California’s desert cities, Los Angeles and on many European tours. AVON released their debut LP Mad Marco on Spira Records in 2016 and have already completed four tours in Europe and also appeared at the prestigious London and Berlin Desertfest in 2017, supporting their H42 Records release Six Wheeled Action Man Tank.

The band features the mighty Alfredo Hernández who has played on some of the very best Desert Rock Albums ever, including …and The Circus Leaves Town by Kyuss and the critically acclaimed debut LP by Queens Of The Stone Age. His distinctive drum sound can be heard on Josh Homme’s Desert Sessions. He also teamed up with fellow desert musician and former Kyuss drummer Brant Bjork, for Ché’s Sounds Of Liberation album, and founded experimental psychedelic instrumental group Yawning Man along with Gary Arce and Mario Lalli. Over the last decade, Alfredo has worked with with Nick Oliveri in Mondo Generator, as well as AVON’s lead singer James Childs and former Kyuss member Chris Cockrell in Vic du Monte’s Persona Non Grata, performing on four studio albums and two live releases.

James Childs saw success with British rock group Airbus, he also worked with Geoff Barrow of UK trip hop group Portishead for the release of a rock reconstruction of the hit single “Sourtimes”. They worked together again on North American and European tours in 2012 and 13 with BEAK.

In 2007, James worked in Los Angeles with Philthy “Animal” Taylor (Motorhead) on a project called Little Villains. James has also seen success in the Film and Television industry, having written the theme to Disney’s worldwide hit cartoon “Kick Buttowski”. He also joined the Australian Showtime production team in 2014 and toured the world twice over with sell out performances. James and Alfredo have completed no less than 6 LPs and 18 tours together!

Charles Pasarell is a musician from the California desert who had cut his teeth with Palm Springs band Waxy, also working with the likes of John Garcia, and toured with successful bands such as Volbeat and Kyuss Lives. In 2005, he toured Europe on the same bill with Alfredo and James in Vic du Monte’s Persona Non Grata, and again in 2007 with James and his band Airbus. Since 2007, Charles joined LA based honky tonk punk band Devastating Karate releasing a string of albums and touring America. Charles joined James for the Lakota project in 2014 and also payed bass with Vic du Monte’s Persona Non Grata prior to the formation of AVON with Alfredo.

AVON is:

James Childs – Vocals & Guitar
Charles Pasarell – Bass
Alfredo Hernández – Drums