Afterlife sign with Hopeless Records; announce new record Breaking Point, release video for new single “Throat”

Photo by: Maysa Askar

Official press release:

Afterlife have announced their debut album Breaking Point will be released January 11th, 2019 via Hopeless Records. This will be the band’s first release on Hopeless. In addition to the announce, the band dropped the first single from the upcoming album, “Throat”. The song is very personal, diving into vocalist Tyler Levenson’s journey with mental health. He reflects:

“I felt at times that I was controlled by the anxiety, that it was dictating everything I did. Everything I did, I had some type of doubt in my mind because of it.”

On the new single and signing announce, the band shares:

‘Throat’ is one of our favorite songs from the record and right after it was recorded we knew that we wanted this to be the first song the world got to hear from our upcoming record Breaking Point out on January 11th, 2019. Hopeless is synonymous with some of the best artists in the music world and we couldn’t be happier being a part of the Hopeless family!”

Afterlife, made up of vocalist Tyler Levenson, guitarist Andrew McGuire, drummer Luke Walkinshaw and bassist Tristan Edwards – emerged from West Palm Beach, Florida at the tail end of 2016 with a clear vision of what they wanted to bring to the world with their music. Levenson says of the band’s formation:

“We talked about what we find in music that’s nostalgic and memorable and implemented that into what we felt was true to us and just started from there.”

Following up their fast and in-your-face Vicious Cycle EP, Afterlife’s debut album Breaking Point ambitiously tackles a variety of impactful topics from mental health and domestic assault to political apathy and the weight of guilt over the course of 10 unique tracks that blend influences like Slipknot, Linkin Park and modern hip-hop.

Breaking Point is now available for pre-order at this location. When pre-ordered digitally, fans will receive an instant download of “Throat”.

Breaking Point track listing

1. “Sacrifice”
2. “Throat”
3. “PSA”
4. “Giving Back the Pain”
5. “Breaking Point”
6. “Holding On”
7. “Grey Sky”
8. “Karma”
9. “New Rage”
10. “Broken Home”

Afterlife is gearing up to hit the road in support of Cane Hill and Sharptooth later this week. Kicking off in their home state of Florida this Friday, September 21st, the tour will be traveling across the US for 6 weeks before wrapping up in New Orleans, LA giving fans an opportunity to hear “Throat” for the first time in a live setting. Tickets can be purchased at